Maiden voyage part 2

So here we are sailing in what feels like the middle of the ocean but really we are quite close to land … Ireland in fact … having mastered the art of de-rigging no mean feat I tell you .. in the smallest loo (in nautical terms called heads) undoing all the jacket zips, braces whilst hanging on with one hand and desperately trying not to loose bladder control .. timing the contact of ample butt with toilet seat with the motion of the waves needs to be rewarded with a bloody large gin.

Always one for taking risks … when I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer I was also embarking on a dream .. my bestie and I had chucked in our careers and built .. well not us entirely but builders… our “dream” isn’t it every gals dream to own a cake & coffee shop? I was asked so many times surely you will not continue now you have cancer … umm hello hell yeah bigger, better & faster than ever . There is a wonderful quote written by Mark Twain … which we based our crazy dream on … I was having chemo in hospital the Sister of the ward at the time was a wonderfully passionate lady called Jane who I am privileged to know… she was up to speed with all our antics and ended up putting a note on a private room door with my name on it as she said I was always on my mobile and mobiles were not allowed on the day ward … her favourite story is me asking her to keep quiet and shut the machine up as I was on phone with bank manager asking for a £10k overdraft to finish the build … he agreed unbeknown to him I was poorly and having chemo .. the only decent thing HSBC did for us! A huge high five sista (literally for Jane) who says I’m the naughtiest chemo patient she’s ever had.

We arrived in Glenarm the most delightful marina in County Antrim at 9.30am having braved for the first time in my case the high seas at night … I am no watch woman and spent my night popping my head up into cockpit offering tea & shortbread..it’s not easy making brews at sea using one hand trust me, let alone then running the gauntlet to get it to the crew on watch …. a seal popped its head up and I marvelled at the fact we had got here by sail power alone. Now for one of the best bits … apparently there is a rule on board that once anchored or moored you drink scotch … we made breakfast and set the table with the usual condiments along with a bottle of Famous Grouse happy days a few grouses later I was fast asleep in my bunk without being thrown around.

My last scotch binge was when my hair was just about growing back and was the most awful grey thick horrible stuff which belonged on a badger not me and my daughter 12 at the time was very poorly it’s a long saga but she was eventually diagnosed with Auto Immune Hepatitis it’s a lifelong illness controlled by medication .. her body basically attacks her liver .. thankfully she’s now 18 but unable to binge drink leave that to me .. high five! She takes it all in her stride and cracks on living a happy crazy life .. don’t know who she gets it from … one thing I will say is trust your instinct as a parent always when your kids are poorly I was made to feel like an over anxious parent for 3 months while she was loosing 2 stone & yellow .. they kept telling me and Mumma Bear it was a virus :/

The weather was kind and we set sail for home a long 24 hour sail .. I still can not believe I have managed to do this and not be sea sick! I felt quite proud of myself even smiling when the boat lurched and skipper yelled wave, Wave, WAVE, WAVE.. we sailed into the Menai Straits and moored onto a big yellow buoy waiting for high tide to sail through the notorious “Swellies” now I must tell you my last experience of these yellow buoys was a few months ago Mr Lover Lover and his crew (me!) had to do the same wait for the tide and it was blowing a gale, pouring with rain, poor vis .. I have arms wrapped around the bow sprit trying to tie a rope to this huge monstrosity I can not hear Mr Lover Lover barking orders as it’s too windy … I nearly get it when the wind blew and the boat moved (honest it wasn’t my fault!) and as I looked up some cheeky so and so was watching me from another boat through the binoculars.. fuck that the V’s were flicked … have they no idea how difficult it is being a novice in these conditions!

I had the best time through my chemo I decided to make sure I walked every day & I hooked up with friends and family, went out for lunches galore and shopped a lot and ate ice cream. The kids were only young and in primary school I remember going to watch the nativity play at lunch time in my wig with a huge scarf round my face so not to get in contact with germs. My kids had so much fun with my wigs they used to wear them and I would be howling with laughter as they danced round the house. I had polystyrene head “Polly” which wigs were placed on at night. My son said one day when his mates were round hey Mum ditch the wig they know you are bald … always wanted it to be a normal time for them and it was I hope.

We were welcomed into the marina by skippers Mum a truly remarkable lady who has sailed around the world and puts me to shame hopping on board nimbly at 85 … quite ironic I loved the Mark Twain quote all those years ago and now I am sailing .. My sailing kit is packed away till Feb next year when I am going to finish a competent crew course which I started in April this year did two nights and one day on board but had a dreadul chest infection so had to come home …real pisser!

I had a fabulous Saturday night at a gin tasting session with good friends .. lots of yummy gin fave being Merywen made locally by North Star Distillery and lots of Botox talk.. I have too many needles as it is to even contemplate Botox .. may consider polyfiller and a trowel … hell hitting 50 is utterly crap I still feel 40 … I drank too much gin as usual and suffered on Sunday Mr Lover Lover route marched me over the hills to blow the gin fumes away .. I have just bought a great pair of walking trousers from Rohan Roamers £69 (snigger always makes me laugh think it’s where 50’yr olds shop) two great zipped pockets … ideal for mobile plus you don’t look like you are going on a mountain expedition.

I have a truly exciting few weeks ahead … my house is rented therefore I have 3 monthly inspections (the only time it gets cleaned and dusted fuck housework it’s overrated) a gas check, consultants appointment, flu jab and a smear test oh deep joy let the good times roll … pass me a gin .. cariad mawr till next time xx

Give these a go …. buttery biscuits which I sometimes cut into heart shaped for pressies ❤️ 

Welsh all butter Shortbread 

125g/4oz Welsh butter ( I use Dragon Butter from Caernarfon Creameries)

55g/2oz caster sugar plus a bit to finish

180g/6oz plain flour

Makes 20 shortbread

Method
Heat the oven to 190C/375F/Gas 5.
Beat the butter and the sugar together until smooth.
Stir in the flour to get a smooth paste. Turn on to a lightly floured work surface and gently roll out until the paste is 1cm/½in thick.
Cut into fingers and place onto a baking tray. Sprinkle with caster sugar and chill in the fridge for 20 minutes.
Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes, or until pale golden-brown. Set aside to cool on a wire rack.
Just yum!

Author: cariadjenw

Almost 50 .. fuck how did that happen !! ... Twice divorced Mother of 2 teenagers ..one 19 travelling in Oz one 18 studying for A levels ... diagnosed with Breast Cancer 7 years ago have treatment every 3 weeks it's not curable but treatable ... living a fabulous life with Mr Lover Lover ...fasten your seatbelts for my mostly hilarious tales galavanting incorporating recipes, restaurant reviews , sailing & outdoor kit , love for Gin & shopping & bit of fashion ..occasional tears but an awful lot of laughter along the way ... ❤️to celebrate my 50th I am doing #50things .. the first being ballsy enough to bare all and blog ... loves xxx

Leave a comment